3.3.1.3

Provincial Secretary, Hon. Arthur J. MacDonald

Minister of Education and Minister of Finance, Hon. W. Bennett Campbell

Minister of Municipal Affairs, Minister of Tourism, Parks and Conservation and Minister of the Environment, Hon. Gilbert Clements Minister of Health and Minister of Social Services, Hon. Catherine Callbeck

Minister of Fisheries and Minister of Labour, Hon. George Henderson

Minister of Agriculture and Forestry, Hon, A.E. Ings

Minister without portfolio (and responsible for the PEI Housing Corporation), Hon. George Proud.

Nova Scotia

The government of Nova Scotia consists of a lieutenant-governor, an executive council and a House of Assembly. The Honourable Clarence L. Gosse became lieutenant-governor on October 1, 1973. The legislature has 46 members elected for a maximum term of five years. On April 2, 1974, 31 Liberals, 12 Progressive Conservatives and three New Democrats were elected to the province's 51st Legislature and 28th since Confederation.

Each member of the House of Assembly is paid an annual indemnity of \$9,600 and an annual expense allowance of \$4,800. In addition to the amounts to which they are entitled under the House of Assembly Act, the premier of the province receives an annual salary of \$25,000, all other cabinet members \$21,000 or less as the Governor-in-Council may determine, the leader of the opposition \$21,000, the speaker \$11,000, the deputy speaker \$3,500, and any member occupying the recognized position of leader of a recognized party other than the premier and leader of the opposition \$6,000.

The Executive Council of Nova Scotia in November 1977

Premier and President of the Executive Council, Hon, Gerald A. Regan

Deputy Premier and Minister of Finance, Hon. Peter Nicholson

Minister of Recreation, Hon. A. Garnet Brown Attorney General and Minister in charge of administration of the Human Rights Act, Hon. Leonard L. Pace

Minister of Public Works and Minister in charge of administration of the Liquor Control Act, Hon, Benoît Comeau

Minister of Mines and Minister in charge of the Nova Scotia Energy Council, Hon. J. William Gillis

Minister of Highways, Hon. J. Fraser Mooney Minister of Municipal Affairs, Hon. Glen M.

Minister of Tourism, Hon. Maurice E. DeLory Minister of Agriculture and Marketing and acting Chairman of the Treasury Board, Hon. John Hawkins

Minister of Education, Hon. George M. Mitchell

Provincial Secretary and Minister in charge of administration of the Communications and Information Act, Hon. Harold M. Huskilson Minister of Development and Minister in charge of administration of the Civil Service Act, the Civil Service Joint Council Act and the Research Foundation Corporation Act, Hon, Alexander M. Cameron

Minister of Labour and Minister in charge of administration of the Housing Development Act, Hon. Walter R. Fitzgerald

Minister of Social Services and Minister responsible for Status of Women, Hon. William M. MacEachern

Minister of Health, Minister in charge of administration of the Drug Dependency Act and Registrar General, Hon. Maynard C. MacAskill

Minister of Lands and Forests, Minister of the Environment and Minister in charge of administration of the EMO (NS) Act and Regulations, Hon. Vincent J. MacLean

Minister of Consumer Affairs and Minister in charge of administration of the Residential Tenancies Act, Hon. Guy A.C. Brown Minister of Fisheries, Hon. Daniel S. Reid.

New Brunswick

3.3.1.4

The government of New Brunswick has a lieutenant-governor, an executive council and a Legislative Assembly. The Honourable H.J. Robichaud was sworn in October 8, 1971, as lieutenant-governor. The legislature elected November 18, 1974, the 48th in New Brunswick's history and 27th since Confederation, had 58 members, including 33 Progressive Conservatives and 25 Liberals, elected for a statutory term not to exceed five years.